4 Comments

I'm a new California Cook, I guess, a label I've never contemplated before, probably because I've only been here for a couple years. But, since I've cooked a lot over the decades and am now here, I may qualify, also because I've fallen for almonds, baby artichokes, excellent wine made by producers of fewer than 150 cases a year, weekend farmers' markets around Walnut Creek, where I live, and honey nut squash, which I discovered here. Love French-, Italian-, and U.S.-influenced cooking but I'm open to the world, one dish at a time.

Expand full comment

Hi Ms Freedman. My name is Kevin Ewing and I read your article in SF Gate about the ghost kitchens opening in the Bay Area. I think that your article is profoundly what the gig environment is doing to communities of small businesses, taxis, restaurants , delivery companies. This is big money that moves quickly to disrupt business as usual, which in itself is what makes change. But this model has moved into communities of marginalized people who are struggling just to pay their bills and provide for their families. What neighborhood’s have the time, funds and resources to fight these mega funded loopholes that these startups are exploiting. It’s a do whatever you want as quickly as possible and then delay responsibility by spending huge amounts of money with tremendous losses in the billions, against cities and communities that have to fight for a traffic light through antiquated government models that suppresses change for the peoples quality of life, but billion dollar companies exploit to their advantage’s.. it’s the proverbial it’s easier to ask for forgiveness than permission. Maybe I’m not expressing myself with clarity. I’m not a college educated person who’s whole life was fast tracked towards going to college and being Uber rich, but I was taught to not be a bully.. Keep up putting pressure and bringing the new type of ponzy schemes that are ripping communities apart to light. Thank you very much for the work you and others are doing for the average people.

Sincerely Kevin Ewing.

Email….. kewing1531@icloud.com

Expand full comment
author

Kevin - Thank you so much for writing! I really appreciate your sharing your thoughts. I absolutely agree with everything you've said here (and you're expressing yourself perfectly clearly!) My neighbors' quality of life and financial security is being absolutely devastated by this company's actions (and the city's inactions), and it smacks of racism. I hope by shining a light on it I can at least help them appeal for some relief and help the neighborhood fight back in whatever way it can.

Best,

Georgia

Expand full comment

That’s the problem. We are fighting ourselves. The drivers the kitchen workers are us they just live in a different neighborhood that is fighting similar problems there. These workers don’t want to make our lives miserable, they’re literally just trying to get by like we are. Uber/lyft is the same product but they’re just sending one car at a time into our neighborhood.

Expand full comment